Worst 2 Best

Renovation and extention of a 1921 Californian Bungalow

Shopping with an numbers man #1

Often my husband (the numbers man) and my taste clash and my expectation of money available to spend are far different from his.  Hence endless searches on ebay for unique items that make our home perfect.  I have yet to purchase a single thing for fear of it not suiting the house, it not fitting or simply not having the room to store it while the renovation happens.

Yesterday we (the numbers man) and I got to have a rare lunch together in Bridge Road Richmond, how lovely! Across the road from the cafe was E.J. Ainger, an auction house filled with antiques and rarities I just die for! I manager to convince Numbers Man to pop into the auction hall to check out things for the next days sale. He said “why are we going in here??” to which I replied “because I’ve always wanted to and your not in a hurry today”.

We;; you could have knocked me over with a feather when from the other side of the shop I hear him say “hey come and have a look at this!!” He had found the most beautiful hand carved Monk Bench, he thought it would be perfect for the hall, where I had in mind a church pew.  I fell in love with it and couldn’t believe how spot on his taste was for this item.

As I couldn’t be there on the day of auction I put in an absentee bid and will find out tomorrow if it was sucessful, fingers crossed!!

I will go back next week, there were plenty of other things that caught my eye, too bad I didn’t bid on these gems!

http://www.ainger.com.au

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

