Worst 2 Best

Renovation and extention of a 1921 Californian Bungalow

Pantry Palava

Who would have thought a pantry could present so many choices of style and function! The dimensions of our pantry will be 2.5 x 1.4m, it will have a small but deep sink and shelving to the ceiling, which is 3.6m high.
I am around 165cm tall (around 5’5″), so getting to the top shelves of the pantry will be difficult, I thought about hanging some kind of trapeze or Tarzan rope but neither really sounds like a safe idea. So I thought maybe a library ladder? We are getting a huge book shelf in the living room, around 5m long to the ceiling again (3.6m) so I could use the ladder for both, just get the railing system on each. This was a great idea, until I got a quote and it will cost around $2.2K…..bummer!
So the next idea is to get an old timber step ladder, maybe 8 rungs high that is stored in the pantry, maybe even have a little nook made so it’s out of the way. Then I can use is when I please in either room. So far tracking on ebay they are going for around the $150 – $200. What a saving!

This is the one pantry I think hits the mark for me.  Love the open shelves and the ladder!! The only difference will be a narrow work bench will go around the room in ours.

This is it! I LOVE this and will do something very similar

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

